Sponsored By:   Phillis Orthodontics
My my My my

CYLA Annual Senior Scholarship

Duration: One time


Criteria: (CYLA will prioritize the items below, and then weigh each)

  • Commitment to sport of lacrosse
  • Contribution to CYLA community
  • Leadership
  • Teamwork
  • Academic achievement including GPA, class rank, and test scores etc…


Application components:

  • Essay
  • Recommendation preferred based on criteria listed above


Application Procedures:

  • Timeline- CYLA is accepting applications from 4/1/22 – 5/27/22
  • A CYLA Director along with the recipients’ Coach will present them with the scholarship


Selection Process:

  • CYLA Board will review the applications and select a winner for both the Girls and Boys Senior Class based on a weighted points system
  • Highest total score and Board vote.

     CYLA Annual Senior Scholarship


Applicants Submission:

  • Applicants should email their application to cylalax1@gmail.com



Ken Boyer Award


In 1995 Ken Boyer placed an ad in the local paper offering a lacrosse clinic. He purchased 25 sticks and sold them all at the first clinic.  By the end of the fall there were 50 players participating.  In 1996, under Ken's leadership, CYLA joined the Mass Bay Youth Lacrosse League with a U13 and U15 boys teams.  Ken served on the MBYLL Board for three years and two as president.  In 2002 the girls program was created with teams in U13 and U15 levels.   As the years past the program grew from 75 players to over 200.  Ken stepped down from CYLA in 2010.  Without his leadership the CYLA program would not be where it is today.  The CYLA board recognized this in 2017 and created the Ken Boyer award to honor one 8th grade boy and one 8th grade girl for their commitment to the organization, their team and their overall work ethic.

Selection Process:

  • Each 7/8 Coach will make a recommendation on a player that they feel has earned this honor (both the boys and girls side) 
  • The CYLA Board will review these recommendations and select an eighth grade girl and boy to receive this award
  • The award will be presented at the annual coaches meeting